What is Apricity? We’re a magazine, a team, and a mission to give today’s groundbreaking artists a place for their voices to be heard. Learn more about us below.

Who We Are

APRICITY, n. | From the Latin ‘apricitas’, the warmth of the sun in the midst of winter

Apricity Magazine sprouted from an idea: we want to encompass all art in our fold. Founded in 2016 by Margaret Siu, we are the official literary and arts magazine of the University of Texas at Austin. We are an award winning publication that accepts literary, visual, and performing works from across the world: from Austin to Taipei to Islamabad to Dublin. We then select the finest to showcase in our annual print edition, which competes at collegiate competitions. We’ve published artists affiliated with and featured by entities such as Science, British Vogue, Smithsonian Magazine, USC School of Cinematic Arts, Kanye West, National Public Radio, Scholastic Arts and Writing Awards, Kyung Hee University, Rhode Island School of Design, Austin Symphony Orchestra, and the American Academy of Poets.

In March 2019, Analecta merged with Apricity, making Apricity the official literary and arts journal of the University of Texas at Austin. Analecta was founded in the fall of 1974 by a group of UT students on the College Council for Humanities. Headed by Thomas Belinoski, the staff published the first volume of Analecta in the spring of 1975. The staff hoped to create a journal that would be around for years to come instead of going out of print after a few issues, as most small-press literary magazines do. The magazine went on to publish the likes of Wes Anderson. As of Analecta and Apricity’s merger, the staff of Apricity has started archiving the 45 years of the University of Texas at Austin’s past community literary and art history. Apricity is a sponsored project of the University of Texas at Austin’s Senate of College Councils.

Currently, the editorial board is staffed by 33 students from UT, dedicated to elevating scintillating stories above the bleak, cold mountains of the world.

Some Numbers

Years Old
Founded from 2016 and still going strong.
Submissions Received
We have received submissions from cities all around the world, including Seoul, Islamabad, Cambridge, Austin, and many more.
Accepted Submissions
From high school students to Pushcart Prize winners.


Every year, we submit our annual print edition to competitions for review.

Recognized by the National Scholastic Press Association as a Finalist
Literary Magazine Pinnacles Award
3rd Place Four-Year Literary Magazine of the Year from the College Media Association.
Gold Crown
Recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association with a Gold Crown, given in New York City on behalf of Columbia University
Apple Award
2nd Place Cover Design given in New York City at the annual CMA Spring Conference
Gold Circle Award
Recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, 3rd Place for Design of a Single Spread
2019, 2018, 2017
Gold Medalist
Recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association with a Gold Medal

Meet the Aprici-Team

Regina Balmaceda


Jaqueline ``Jax`` Knox

Managing Editor

Alex Zhang

Executive Associate

Grace Zhao

Business Manager

Sumaya Daghestani

Business Manager

TD Simons

Publicity Associate

Shama Tirukkala

Social Media Associate

Elyssa Sefiane

Events Manager

Alice Dashevsky

Submission Strategist

Nhu Nguyen

Web Editor

Gloria Wang

Web Editor

SaiPranav Gurijala

Visual Art Editor

Anh Vu

Film & Visual Associate

Elizabeth Le

Performing Arts Editor

Saxton Rios

Performing Art Associate

Anne Chow

Film Editor

Bella Plaza

Film Associate

Roshan Khan

Literary Arts Editor

Emma Tanner

Literary Reader

Morgan Jeitler

Literary Reader

Alec Weigel

Literary Reader

Lucy Johnson

Literary Reader

Nima Rahman

Literary Reader

Emily Lin

Literary Reader

Saylor Hinthorn

Literary Reader

Leah Piñon

Literary Reader

Janet Abou-Elias

Literary Reader

Clarissa R. Abrego

Literary Reader

Lucy Hwang

Design Director

Usman Khan

Design Associate

Board of Directors

Chair | Margaret Siu
Business Director | Sharon Zhou
Creative Director | Eileen Bau
Performing Arts Director | Austin Ali
Visual Director | Rebekah Singleton
Operations Director | Madeleine Richter-Atkinson

Thank You to our Supporters

Founder’s Circle Members

Jeanne & Mickey Klein
Dr. George Christian
Dr. Michael Stoff
Dr. Randy Diehl
Dr. Betty Sue Flowers
Dr. Alexandra Wettlaufer
Dr. Elizabeth Cullingford
Dr. David Genecov
Lee Walker
Alicia Chen
David Ochsner
Mark Hurtubise
Morton Meyerson
Victoria Miller
Margaret Siu
William and Gloria Siu
Dr. Rebecca Teng
Yvonne Yeung
Huvishka Ali
Martin Kevorkian

Institutional Support

Plan II Honors Program
University of Texas at Austin College of Liberal Arts
University of Texas at Austin College of Fine Arts

Want to know more?

Contact Us